Travel Corridors in Europe

Countries are trying to reopen their borders for travel to revive the tourism industry, however, they are taking precautious steps. We have gathered the latest news about travel bubbles and corridors between 2 or more countries in Europe.

Last updated on 17.05.2021

Schengen Area

The EU Council has opened the Schengen Area borders to the residents of the following countries: Australia, New Zealand, Rwanda, Singapore, South Korea and Thailand, and has advised European governments to do the same for their own respective borders. This means that the borders of the countries within the Schengen Area are not automatically opened to this list of countries, and while some governments listened to the Council's advice, others preferred to remain closed.

Go back to top


According to the EU Council advice, Germany has allowed entry without restrictions to Australia, New Zealand, Singapore, South Korea and Thailand. German residents, however are not allowed to travel without restriction to these countries, making it a one-way travel corridor. In addition, citizens of the European Union and Norway, Iceland, Liechtensteina and Switzerland are allowed to travel to Germany without travel restriction. This means that they are not required to present a negative PCR test upon entry.

Go back to top


Spain has established reciprocal travel agreements with the following countries: Australia, South Korea, China, Rwanda, Singapore, New Zealand and Thailand, while also accepting travellers from the Schengen Area and the European Union. All travellers however are still required to present a health control form (called FCS) at their arrival airport, as well as a negative PCR test upon entry.

Go back to top


Travel restrictions to enter Iceland do not apply to citizens from EEA/EFTA states (with exceptions for France, the Netherlands, Croatia, Cyprus, Lithuania, Poland, Sweden and Hungary), Monaco, the Vatican, Australia, New Zealand, Rwanda, Singapore, South Korea and Thailand.

Go back to top


Until at least the 25th of May 2021, no travel restrictions to enter Finland apply to Iceland and Vatican City, and to residents of Rwanda, South Korea, Thailand, Australia, New Zealand and Singapore. All other traffic is restricted to returning and essential travel only, which means Finland bans travel from all other countries other than the ones aforementioned.

Go back to top


Georgia's borders are currently open to citizens and permanent residents of France, Germany, Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania, for air travel only. Passengers from these countries are only required to fill in a form describing their travel history of the past 14 days prior to their flight, and do a PCR test upon arrival (charge free).

Go back to top


Ursula von der Leyen, the European Commission President, has mentioned in an interview to the New York Times that vaccinated American citizens should be able to travel freely to the European Union during summer of 2021. However, nothing is currently officially planned.

Go back to top

If you don't want to miss our best deals

Great deals in a flash

Great deals in a flash

Easy and
fast booking

All airlines,
all destinations

English speaking
customer service